Janies Uber Peanut Butter Blondies

blondiesThis took some patience, and work, but I got it, I think. Since here we couldn’t have any dairy, I couldn’t actually use the ingredient she challenged me with (peanut butter chips do not seem to come in dairy-free form around here). Thankfully I know what they taste like and I believe these would be delectable using half and half chocolate and peanut butter chips, so that is how I wrote the recipe. You could off course go all peanut butter, which would be more up my alley, but I also said this would be kid-approved, so we have chocolate in here.

I thought of making peanut butter chip brownies, but the blondie, especially with the peanut butter in the batter seemed more fitting. This blondie is what one would call a “healthy” dessert.

IMG_4767

However, I made these with beans not because of health but because this can be made quickly and with nearly no mess (so easy for the trial and error that ensued). Its all made in one “bowl” of your food processor and if you bake in parchment paper, even the baking pan has minimal clean up! The kids really enjoyed dumping everything and hiding when I turned on the processor. After first making with real peanut butter, I made it with a soy butter for the daycare. Worked just as well, but a slightly more earthy taste, because of the soy nut butter. I actually really liked that version.

And you can eat it right out of the bowl too:

 

 

 

IMG_4779

Serves: 1-16                      Prep time: 10 min                                 Bake time: 40 min

Ingredients:

1 19 oz can white beans (drained and rinsed)
1 tbsp vanilla
2 tbsp applesauce (I used a sweetened apple-cinnamon one)
3 tbsp peanut butter or soy “nut” butter (tried both, both work fine)
130g brown sugar (For a less sweet blondie use 110g)
50g quick rolled oats
1/2tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt (more if using unsalted pb)
50g chocolate and/or peanut butter chips.

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 Put everything but chips in food processor, process until smooth (some oats will still be visible), scoop mixture into lined or greased 8×8 or 9×9 pan add chips, mix to distribute the chips and fill the pan, level the top and bake for 35-40 minutes (check that toothpick comes out clean and top is golden and nicely cracked) allow to cool in pan for at least 20 minute before trying to cut.

IMG_4784

I use Enjoy life chocolate chips (the minis) because the other brands I have tried I have not liked, but I am not super in love with these either. Anyone have wonderful suggestions for dairy free allergy safe chocolate chip options?!

Whats your favourite flavour of chocolate chip? (Mine is white chocolate, another one I would love to find dairy-free)

Leave a Reply

