Slow cooker fajita soup

Cooking food for my kids and I to share means cutting back on my love of spice. So every now and then I like to make something that is warm and spicy. My kids don’t mind some spice but I am pretty sure it’s cayenne that they immediately respond to with “it’s too spicy”.IMG_5373

This dish was a trial of sorts. It was delightful though I finished this bowl and wanted more, but had already put away the rest! I had leftovers from Thursdays tofu fajitas ( I make it for them without the spices, or just a dash and  some onion and garlic sauteed with the veggies). I had a lot of unused onions and peppers already cut in strips. I didn’t think if I stir fried them I could effectively freeze without the defrosted version tasting like mush.  The idea of a slow cooker fajita rice bowl came to mind. The results of this recipe was more soup like so I split it up left myself a serving of soup with the broth and the rest I froze with very little liquid (there was a lot of broth left over so this recipe could easily make plenty of soup for everyone but my goal was to serve over rice with fresh tomatoes and avocado another day (this recipe below).

This mildy spicy soup is great on a rainy cool day with some fresh toasted rye bread. I use a slow cooker because I do not want to dirty excessive dishes or spend time breaking things into steps. So like all my slow cooker recipes this is easy.IMG_5371

Slow Cooker Fajita “soup”

SERVES: 4-6                           Prep: 10min                                  Slow cook: 5hrs

Ingredients:

1 can black beans, drained
1 can low sodium tomatoes
1-2 onions (I like red onions) cut into strips
3 peppers, cut into strips
1/2 yellow zucchini, thinly sliced
1-2 cloves Garlic, minced
1 cup water
2-3tbsp favourite Mexican spice mix (I used taco seasoning)

Method:

Dump the ingredients into your slow cooker and cook on low for 5hrs stirring once after 30-40min. (my guestimate would be 2hrs on high)IMG_5369

Slow Cooker Fajita Rice Bowl

The alternative for this recipe is to leave all the “broth” behind, ( I would totally save the broth for a day when home with a cold) (quantities for 4 people)

Ingredients:
1 batch fajita “soup”
2 Cups cooked brown rice (I use a wild and brown mix from PC Organics)
2 Chopped fresh tomatoes
1 Chopped fresh avocado (toss with lemon juice) or guacamole
1/2 cup Toffuti sour cream or soured cashew cream (mix a dash of lemon juice into your cashew cream).
4 tbsp Fresh cilantro

Method:
Put 1/2 cup of rice in bottom of each bowl, top with generous amount of cooked veggies and beans, add 1/4 of the toppings to each bowl garnishing with the fresh cilantro.

We may be having this for dinner tonight, watch for pictures on facebook if we do!

Leave a Reply

