Watermelon pancakes

pancakes5 We tend to assume certain foods are just a universal. That our kids will love them. I am often fooled by this. Here is a partial list of food dislikes that baffled me.

  • Pancakes (until this spring anyway)
  • Potatoes
  • French fries (my son for a while)
  • Cake (again my son – loves this now)
  • Chocolate (boy again)
  • Grilled cheese (I understand disliking vegan grilled cheese, but a real one?)

There was certainly more but pancakes stick in my head the most because I don’t remember ever not liking pancakes, french toast or waffles.pancakes6

Tides are turning around here and tastes are changing and now pancake are a favourite breakfast food. I decided on this fall morning to share an unusual pancake recipe that essentially my son invented after he insisted that his pancakes have watermelon INSIDE.pancake7This one has watermelon, blueberries and raisins!

Here is my go to pancake base recipe, you basically can add anything you want to this. What I do is mix the dry ingredients and store in an airtight container so I just have to portion some out, add some milk alternative, applesauce, vanilla and whatever fruit is going in the pancakes and cook.

pancakes2

Whole Wheat Watermelon Pancakes

Makes 16 small pancakes.

2  1/4 cups flour (I use half whole wheat and half white)
2 tbsp sugar (I use brown sugar but it works with all kinds of sugar, or none at all but I find that bland)
1 tbsp cinnamon or to taste
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda (or a pinch of salt works)
2 cups favourite milk alternative, soy milk results in fluffiest
4 tbsp applesauce
1 tbsp vanilla
3/4 cup of finely cut up watermelon (or any other fruit you want)

Pre-heat skillet on medium  heat. Mix the dry ingredients well. Add applesauce, milk alternative and vanilla mix well until batter has a thick consistency but still drips from spoon. add flour or milk as needed to adjust. gently fold in watermelon.

When skillet is hot (water sizzles) add about 1/4-1/3 cup of batter to the pan, flip when edges start to dry and bubbles have formed in batter.

Serve with fresh fruit and favourite pancake toppings!

Or just grab and go:

pancakes8

TIPS: As I mentioned, preparing the dry ahead is great, another trick is to make the whole batch and freeze, wrap each pancake in waxed paper or parchment paper, tucking them all in tightly into a freezer bag. then you can take out as many as you need, toss in toaster or microwave and you have an instant, healthy, homemade Eggo pancake.

In this house, I eat my pancakes plain, my daughter likes them with maple syrup and my son likes them plain or with peanut butter smeared all over them. So far, we have tried banana, strawberries, blueberries, chocolate chips, raisins, watermelons and pears in these pancakes, frozen and fresh and all have worked wonderfully.

8 thoughts on “Watermelon pancakes”

  1. I can’t get my 8 yr old SD to eat a pancake unless it is full of chocolate chips. It’s nice that you are willing to allow you son to offer suggestions such as watermelon in his pancakes and actually MAKE them. I think this is powerful in helping him eat well and staying away from power struggles. Good for creativity too 🙂

    Like

  2. I like your list of universal food…I love them all…thanks for putting this pancakes recipe…for a long time I was looking for one that did not have egg in it… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

