Pizza and pumpkins and pumpkin seeds

A few weeks ago the medium-sized pumpkins were 2 for 3$ at the grocery store. Perfect for medium-sized twins. We coloured on them and put them in the window for sukkot. Now Halloween is approaching so we will carve the sukkot pumpkins for some secular fun. And eat the seeds. This last part is very important. Seeds are good for you but seeds are also super yummy. especially covered in salt and spices.

apumpkins

You might have been anticipating some sort of fancy pumpkin crust or something from the title of this post but alas no (though an awesome idea… I have a recipe for a pie crust, should be fairly easy to pizza that up….) it’s just that in order to accomplish the pumpkin carving and seed roasting we needed to have an easy dinner. I came across a kosher, store-bought pizza crust today and figured we would try it. The brand was Mia. I cannot say I am a huge fan, it is more like a bread and doesn’t compare to homemade dough. It came with a standard pizza sauce to which I added some marinara and topped it with olives, fresh tomatoes, leeks and red peppers and a sprinkling of chia. The toppings were by far better than the pizza crust but for a quick throw together meal, it was perfect. They ate more than 1/3 of the pizza each! I served the pizza with edamame for some protein.

chiapizza

The pumpkins.

My son was really excited to carve the pumpkin but lasted about 1 scoop of seeds before he said he didn’t like the yucky stuff and walked away. He has almost no attention span. Except if TV is involved. That’s ok it meant I got to play!

My daughter persisted and did an amazing job painstakingly taking out seeds until they were almost all out. She actually only stopped because the pizza was ready.

Both kids had so many questions about why there are so many seeds and why we scrape it and what will we do with it.

I’ve never carved a pumpkin with them or for them before it was always something they just did with their fathers family. This year I figured why not, it’s an excuse to do what I loved doing and eating from my childhood. Roasted pumpkin seeds.

apumpkinguts

The seeds.

Messy work picking seeds out of pumpkin guts. Thankfully this is something my sensory self actually likes doing. The smallish pumpkins had a ton of seeds and almost no guts so it wasnt hard work either.

Pumpkin seeds are good sources of iron, protein and potassium as well as many other essential nutrients and with the shell on sure provide a punch of fiber. For a salty snack this is pretty sweet.

I decided I would make as many kinds as I had batches. 1 cookie sheet fits about 1 cup of seeds so this was looking like 4 batches! I kept the seeds once dry wrapped in parchment paper until ready to use.

apumpkinseedspie

The basics are the same for all the recipes:

Wash seeds, allow to dry overnight spread out in a single layer. Some instructions say you can pat dry but I think for ultimate crispyness it’s best to allow to dry overnight.  Toss with olive oil to coat, toss in the spices then spread evenly on a cookie tray in single layer (Ideally on parchment paper). bake in pre-heated oven at 375 for 15 min

Salty

I seriously considered a salt spray like they must use industrially on these to get that powdery white salty coating but figured my blood pressure would thank me for sparing it that!

1/2tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt (or more, I was a little heavy-handed and probably got a full tsp on there)

Spicy

This one got me for a while. I wanted something the kids could eat too so wasabi and cayenne were out. Then I had a moment of brilliant. Curry. It would make them a fun yellow colour too. I wouldn’t say these are spicy but they do have a nice flavour and smell.

1/2 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp curry powder

Sweet

Pumpkin pie spice on pumpkin seeds. Why not!

1/2 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/4 tsp sea salt

My new favourite kind of pumpkin seed is pumpkin pie pumpkin seeds.

Store in an airtight container as long as you can manage to keep them around.

These are all delightful. We made them together and the kids at first did not like them but I got home from work to a half-finished jar and the babysitter telling me she had to stop them from finishing the whole thing! So definitely a winner here. They are of course naturally: vegan, gluten free, dairy free, soy free, etc.

Remember:  shell on

 

2 thoughts on “Pizza and pumpkins and pumpkin seeds”

Leave a Reply

